Window Tint Law in Georgia | What's The Darkest Legal Tint in GA?
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Car window tinting is an excellent way to add more security and privacy to your car. The tint protects your car's upholstery from the sunlight and provides solar heat rejection.
If you spend most of your time in your vehicle, you might be exposed to sunlight. A tint on your car window will protect you from sunlight and harmful UV radiation.
But do you know the window tint law in your state?
No matter what type of car you have, you’ll have to follow the rules and regulations for window tinting. So before you decide to tint your car windows, read the window tint law in GA.
Remember that you'll have to face penalties if you don't follow these laws.
In this post, we've explained everything you need to know about the Georgia tint laws.
Window Tint Color, Darkness, and Reflection in Georgia
Georgia's tint laws are based on the tint's color, darkness, and reflection. These laws are made for the safety of the people so that they have enough visibility while driving.
For this reason, these laws allow a certain amount of Visible Light Percentage (VLT%). This refers to the amount of light that can pass through the tint. In the law, the VLT% of passenger cars and multipurpose vehicles is regulated differently.
Tinting the front windshield is illegal on all types of vehicles. However, you can still see the top six inches of the front windshield with a non-reflective tint.
The following are the percentages for legal tint in GA:
Passenger vehicles include sedans, coupes, hatchbacks, and station wagons.
The darkest legal tint in GA for passenger vehicles is:
Multi-purpose vehicles include SUVs, vans, trucks, and minibusses.
The darkest tint in GA for multi-purpose vehicles is:
Georgia Window Tint Color and Reflection
According to window tint law in GA, red and amber color window tints are illegal in Georgia.
You can choose green, gray, and bronze colors for window tint without any problem. All tint colors are allowed except red and amber.
Tint reflection is another factor in choosing a tint for the window.
Reflection means the ability of a substance to reflect the incoming light and reduce glare.
Window tints on all vehicles should not be more than 20% reflective. Using tint reflects light, prevents glare, and reduces heat.
Georgia Tint Exemption
There are a few exemptions to Georgia's tint laws for vehicles. These exemptions include medical reasons, commercial and government vehicles, and windows tinted before factory delivery.
People with certain medical conditions can get an exemption from the window tint law in GA.
For instance, if a person has a medical condition that requires them to ride in a vehicle with tinted windows, they can get an exemption for a limited time.
To get a medical exemption, you must go to your doctor and request that they write a letter for you to tint your car windows.
The letter should include your name and the medical reasons you need a medical exemption.
What Tint is Legal in GA?
Georgia has certain important things that its citizens must consider before tinting their car windows.
The following are some answers to your queries regarding the legal tint in GA:
Is 15 Percent Tint Legal in Georgia?
No, 15 percent tint is not legal in Georgia. You can use 15 percent tint for multi-purpose vehicles' rear and back seat windows.
But for passenger vehicles, you can't use 15 percent tint on any window.
Is 20 Tint Legal in GA?
No, 20 tint is not legal in GA. However, 20 tint is allowed for multi-purpose vehicles' rear and back seat windows.
It is not allowed for passenger vehicles' windows to use 20 tint.
Is 5 Tint Legal in GA?
For passenger vehicles, it is illegal to use 5 tint in GA.
You can use five % tints for the rear and back seat windows of multi-purpose vehicles.
Additional Tips for Legal Window Tint in GA
You must choose a knowledgeable, experienced tint installer to avoid penalties and fines.
The process of getting a window tint in Georgia is incredibly simple. It might cost around 150 to 200 bucks, but for customized tinting, the total cost might reach up to $500 or more.
There are DIY kits available, too, for tinting, and if you're a pro, you must consider tinting your car's window yourself.
To buy tint, you must ensure that the manufacturer has the certification to sell tints in Georgia. Using certified tints is necessary; otherwise, you can end up with a fine.
There is also the risk of being ticketed for illegal window tinting, and it will cost more to redo the tinting again.
To summarize, 32% tint is the darkest legal tint in GA. Before tinting your car windows, make sure you understand the Georgia tint laws.
This is important because any violation of the rules can result in a penalty. If you don't follow the legal tint law in Georgia, you'll have to pay a fine of up to $1000.
In some cases, a violation of the legal tint law in Georgia may result in imprisonment for up to one year. Penalties are not fixed; you might get a warning with a small fine of $25 to $100 for a first offense.
The second offense might result in a bigger penalty.
To avoid these penalties, you must follow the Georgia tint laws and choose a professional dealer for window tint installation.
Window Tinting Las Vegas
Disclaimer: Windowtintinginlv.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com